Waveney Valley Scouts 

Home Page
Notice Board
Beaver Scouts
Cub Scouts
Scout Network
District Development
Scout Active Support

Scout Groups

2nd Beccles
5th Beccles
1st Bungay
1st Earsham
1st Halesworth
1st Southwold


Return to County Web Site

District Explorer Scouts

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old. They make up the fourth section of the Scouting family after Beavers, Cubs and Scouts.

Structure and meetings

A group of Explorer Scouts is called a Unit.

Not all Units meet every week, partly due to activities, holidays, exams and the other commitments that crop up in a teenager's life, and also because Explorers tend to get out and about at weekends more often than other sections.


Explorer Scouts often get the chance to work with other Explorer Scouts in their District, not just their own Unit, so can take part in an even wider spectrum of activities.

There is also a range of ambitious badges and awards, through which Explorers can demonstrate their proficiencies and expand their interests.


For more information about Explorer Scouts and their activities please contact our District Explorer Scout Commissioner - Fudge Farrar